Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Art  Tags: art art_history  

Find information on art movements or artists and access high-quality digital images.
Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://nvcguides.libguides.com/art  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Artist and Art Movement Info.             Print Page
  
 

Featured Artist

 

Sonia Delaunay

Russian painter, printmaker, interior decorator, textile and fashion designer of Ukrainian birth, active in France, wife of Robert Delaunay. More than any other modern artist, she forged a link between the fine and the applied arts.

Photo of artist in her studio. 1920's. Image from ARTstor

Artist Bio from Oxford Art Online

 

Online Databases

The online databases give you access to thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and materials from books. The databases are available 24 hours a day and are constantly being updated and added to. Use your original PALS username and password to log in to the databases from off campus.

[ Off-Campus Access Tutorial ]

  • Oxford Art Online  
      
    Online version of 34 volume set, covers all forms of the visual arts including painting, sculpture,architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s.
  • Biography Resource Center  
      
    Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It contains approximately 250,000 biographies from respected Gale Group sources.


  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Contains full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. For search tips, click on the Help link in the right corner.

Handouts

 
 

Books and Media

Find books / media at Northwest Vista College and other ACCD colleges.

Library Catalog  Search the NVC catalog for books, ebooks, CDs, and DVDs or search the collections of all ACCD libraries.

Art books are found in the N section in both the checkout and reference areas.
• To find books about specific artists or art movements (example: Andy Warhol or impressionism), use keyword searching in the library catalog

 

Books from other Alamo College campuses can be requested at the Reference Desk. They will be delivered in 3 to 4 days.

Texshare cards
If you want to check something out from another academic library in town, you can use a Texshare card to do this. Just stop by the Reference Desk and we will give you a Texshare card that will allow you to check out books from other academic libraries here in San Antonio

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait