Frequently Used Reference Materials
The CRC Handbook and Merck Index are located on the counter at the front of the reference desk.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Call Number: QD65 .H3
ISBN/ISSN: 142006679X
The Merck Index : an Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals - Ed. O'Neil, Maryadele J.
Call Number: RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 091191000X
Chemical Compounds - Neil Schlager, Jayne Weisblatt, and David E. Newton
Call Number: QD471 .W45 2006 v.1-3
ISBN/ISSN: 1414401507
Where to Find Chemistry Materials
Chemistry materials have call numbers beginning with QD. One way to locate chemistry resource is to browse the QD shelves in any of the sections below.
Reference: Reference books are located on the low shelves along the wall by the Reference Desk. They can only be used in the library.
Books for Check-Out/ "the Stacks": The tall shelving in the middle of the Library contains books that can be borrowed.
Videos: Videos (DVD and VHS) are located on the shelving at the end of the Library near the entrance to the Cyber Cafe.
Catalog
Search the NVC catalog below for books, ebooks, CDs, and DVDs
don't forget to expand your search to all ACC libraries. [ Search Tips ]
-- OR --
Search other libraries with WorldCat (limit your search by zip code)
Using the Catalog to Find Chemistry Materials
Keyword Search: Enter a few basic terms on the topic you're looking for -- for example, "inorganic chemistry", "carbon", or "chemistry experiment"
Subject Search: Select the Subject tab and enter basic terms describing the general subject area. Useful subject searches for chemistry include: Chemistry, Chemical, Chemicals, Compounds. You can also follow the subject links or tags at the bottom of book entries to find relevant subject headings.
Other Tips: The catalog searches the NVC Collection by default. However, you can use the collection drop-down box to expand your search to the entire ACCD system or to a specific campus. Items located at other campus can be requested via Inter-Library Loan (contact the Reference Desk for help) or borrowed directly from that campus by the student.
You can restrict the types of materials (print, e-book, video, etc.) using the Advanced Keyword Search and selecting a particular Material Type.
Tips and Tutorials
Need help figuring out the CRC Handbook or Merck Index?
A Word About EBooks
What is an E-Book?
- actual published books not an internet source
- 24/7 access from anywhere
- Fully searchable
Once you click on the title of an E-Book you will see a series of links - click "Access for Northwest Vista". Off-campus you will be prompted to enter your PALS ID and your original PALS password.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait