Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry inorganic chemistry organic chemistry science  

This guide will help you locate books, videos, database resources, and web sites related to general chemistry.
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://nvcguides.libguides.com/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Databases             Print Page
  

Accessing the Databases

On Campus: 

  • Click "Online Databases" on the Library Homepage
  • Use the alphabetical list to find a database you already know the name of. 
  • Use the subject list - "Sciences" to access the full list of databases with science content. 
  • While on-campus, clicking on the title of the database will take you directly to the database.

Off Campus: 

  • Follow the instructions above. 
  • When you click the database name, you will be prompted to enter your PALS user name and your original PALS password (the first two letters of your last name, capitalized, and the last 6 digits of your SSN). 
  • You should have 24/7 access to all the database materials.  If you encounter login problems, please contact the Reference Desk at 486-4513.

      
     

    Chemistry Databases

    Use the following databases to located journal articles and other reference materials.

    • General Science Collection  
        
      A custom collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
    • Science Resource Center  
        
      thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites.
    • Science Full-Text Select  
        
      A broad range of important science literature in a single 100% full text database.
    • Science & Technology Collection  
        
      contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
    • Academic Search Complete  
        
      multidisciplinary database that covers a broad range of topics with full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 jou
     

    Tips for Finding Articles

    Fulltext - To make sure that you access complete articles, click the fulltext box on your search screen. 

    Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journals - Your assignments may require you to read articles from scholarly science journals as opposed to popular magazines.  Look for a box that allows you to limit results to scholarly journals (also known as peer-reviewed or academic journals).

    Subject/Thesaurus Terms - Follow subject terms links (frequently displayed to the left of your search results) to find more on-target resources.

     

    Scholarly vs. Popular Publications

     

    More Information

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait