Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

History 

Last update: Sep 25th, 2009 URL: http://nvcguides.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Online Databases - Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

About

The online databases give you access to thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and materials from books.

On-Campus - Click on Online databases from the Library website.  Then click on the alphabetical list or choose a subject link.

Off-campus - Use your original PALS username and password  [Tutorial ]

(edit text )

 

Online Databases - find articles

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    contains full text for nearly 4,650 periodicals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in computer sciences, engineering, history,and many more.

  • Daily Life through History & World Cultures Today  
    is a cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students. It includes material on world cultures and history.
  • Historical New York Times  
    A deep backfile of the New York Times through 2002. Here you can search for articles, obituaries, letters and see the full image of page. This database does NOT include the most current years.
  • History Resource Center (World)  
    Full-text articles from more than 100 academic journals, and maps and images. Full-text articles and images for over 1,400 primary source documents.
  • History Resource Center (U.S.)  
    contains primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.
  • JSTOR  
    Search the full text of many scholarly journals in the arts, literature, botany, ecology and the social sciences. This database has the complete run of each journal title and results will be shown in their original image. Acrobat Reader must be installed to view these articles.
  • Student Research Center  
    includes articles from magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film & videos.




 
 

Search Strategies

Combine two search terms to focus a topic by
using
and, or, not.
Example: medicine and careers

Truncation 
Use an asterisk * to take the place of letters in a word so that other forms can be searched at the same time. 
Example: vocation*

Phrases
Place quotation marks around phrases so all the words are searched together, rather than independently. 
Example: “career planning”

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait