Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Music 

Welcome to the NVC Library's Music Research Guide! This guide will help you find recorded music, sheet music, and books and DVDs about music and musicians.
Last update: Oct 19th, 2009 URL: http://nvcguides.libguides.com/Music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Music Recordings             Print Page
  
 

Music CDs

 

 We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank

 
 

How to Search for Music CDs

Use the Library Catalog to find music CDs owned by the NVC Library.  In the Basic Keyword search box type the information you are looking for and then the words and sound recording.

  • artist name  Example:  Beethoven and sound recording
  • song title  Example:  "Still Crazy After All These Years" and sound recording
  • album title  Example:  "Sticky Fingers" and sound recording
  • genre of music  Example:  rock and sound recording
  • instrument  Example:  trumpet and sound recording

OR

Select Advanced Keyword Search and on the right under Material Type, scroll down and select Music CDs.  Then in the search box type the name of the artist, song, album, genre, or instrument as above.

 

 

Online Music Databases

You can also access, listen to, and download music recordings from these music databases:

Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Naxos Music Library - this database contains information and music selections from the Naxos catalog of music. Examples from classical, jazz, folk and world music are extensive. Windows Media Player is essential for playing the sound files.

 

 
 

Where to Find Music CDs

Music CDs are located in wooden bins near the Computer Help Desk.  The CDs are organized by type of music -- classical, ethnic, jazz, etc.

The first part of the CD's call number indicates which section of the CD section to search for your CD.  For example, this CD Yardbird suite [sound recording] : the ultimate Charlie Parker collection has the call number  CD JAZ PAR YAR 00049.  You would look in the Jazz section of the CD bins and then look behind the P tab.

 

How to Access Music Databases

You can access these other databases 24/7 from any computer with internet access.  From the library home page, click on Online Databases, Databases by Subject - Music, and then click on the name of the database.  You will be prompted for login and password.  Your login is your PALS login, and your password is your original PALS password (first two letters of your last name capitalized plus the last 6 digits of your Social Security Number).  If you have trouble accessing the databases from off campus, call a librarian at (210) 486-4513.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait