Modules
The modules are face-to-face sessions held in the library classrooms at various times every week. Each session is about an hour long.
Module 1: Introduction to Research & Using the Library Catalog. In this hands-on session, students will collaborate to create a concept map and a focused research question on a sample topic. Students will then create search strategies and use them to search in the library catalog.
Module 2: Critical Thinking & Using Online Databases. Students will learn what online databases are, what kinds of materials are in databases, and how to access the databases from off campus. Students will then work in groups with sample research topics to determine the most appropriate databases for their topic and find a relevant article in that database.
Module 3: Evaluating Sources & Internet Research. In this interactive session, students will learn to apply evaluation criteria that will help them identify credible information on the Web. In addition, students will learn about alternative search engines and subject directories.
Module 4: Citing Sources & NoodleTools. Students will learn how to identify citation information in print and online sources and to use NoodleTools, an online application that can create a citation page in MLA, APA, or Chicago/Turabian format.
Proof of Completion: At the end of class students will be given a completion slip for their own records. The library is maintaining a searchable database so that instructors can confirm which students have attended the modules.
Registration: Students can register for the information literacy modules by coming to the Reference Desk, phoning 486-4513, or email (nvc-library@mail.accd.edu) The current month’s schedule is linked from the library home page (http://www.accd.edu/nvc/lrc/).
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait