NVC Research Guides: ANTH 2301/2302 Linsenbardt: Start Here

Activity #1

Activity #2

If you find an interesting online news or magazine article related to Anthropology look through it for important names, dates, places and publication. These clues can help you search for peer-reviewed and academic resources in the databases and One Search.

Post-Medieval Burial

One Search

EverythingBooksArticlesVideos
One Search
*Use Chrome or Firefox
Advanced Search

Library Databases: Use these to look for Scholarly (Primary) Articles

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content that includes interactive elements in articles such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General reference source of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations and bilingual dictionaries. Its full-text content covers every major subject. Try the Concept Map option.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to many scholarly journals in the arts, literature, botany, ecology and the social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of each journal title are NOT available here.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of world history.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre–colonial times to the present day.
PLOS One Archaeology
Open Access, peer-reviewed journal articles.
UTSA Center for Archaeological Research Publications
Open Access Resources for Archaeology from Brown University

Helpful Websites: Use these to find Non-Scholarly (Secondary) Articles

Science Daily: Anthropology News
Science Daily: Archaeology News
Seeker News
National Public Radio (NPR)
National Geographic
American Anthropological Association
eSkeletons
Ethnographic Resources related to Folklore, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, and the Humanities
National Anthropological Archives
Visual Anthropology
Voice of the Shuttle: Anthropology
Science Daily: Fossils & Ruins News
BBC News

Public Services Librarian

Amanda Gorrell

Email Me

Contact:
Redbud Learning Center
1st Floor

(210) 486-4508
Website

Social: Facebook Page Pinterest Page Twitter Page Instagram Page GoodReads Page

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Geography / World Cultures, Geology, Mathematics and Engineering, Psychology

Scholarly Articles

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Publications (Trinity University)
Peer Reviewed Articles (YouTube Video from California State University, Fullerton Library)

Physical Anthropology and Beyond

Physical Anthropology: The branch of anthropology dealing with evolutionary changes in human anatomy and physiology.

Subfields of Physical Anthropology

Bioarchaeology

Genetics

Human Behavioral Ecology

Human Biology

Human Ecology

Paleoanthropology

Primatology

Forensic Anthropology

Paleopathology

Next: Search Strategies >>