Math can be hard, but not impossible!
Mathematics is a language.
— Josiah Willard Gibbs
Useful Links
Graphing Calculator Guides
-
TI-89 Graphing Calculator for Dummies
by
Do you own a TI-89, TI-89 Titanium, TI-92 Plus, or a Voyage 200 graphing calculator? If you do, or if you need to get one for school or your job, then you need to know how it works and how to make the most of its functions. TI-89 For Dummies is the plain-English nuts-and-bolts guide that gets you up and running on all the things your TI-89 can do, quickly and easily. This hands-on reference guides you step by step through various tasks and even shows you how to add applications to your calculator. Soon you'll have the tools you need to: Solve equations and systems of equations Factor polynomials Evaluate derivatives and integrals Graph functions, parametric equations, polar equations, and sequences Create Stat Plots and analyze statistical data Multiply matrices Solve differential equations and systems of differential equations Transfer files between two or more calculators Save calculator files on your computer Packed with exciting and valuable applications that you can download from the Internet and install through your computer, as well as common errors and messages with explanations and solutions, TI-89 For Dummies is the one-stop reference for all your graphing calculator questions!
Call Number: QA 75 .E39 2005ISBN: 9780764589126Publication Date: 2005-08-26 -
Using the TI-84 Plus
by
Summary This easy-to-follow book includes terrific tutorials and plenty of exercises and examples that let you learn by doing. It starts by giving you a hands-on orientation to the TI-84 Plus calculator. Then, you'll start exploring key features while you tackle problems just like the ones you'll see in your math and science classes. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. About this Book With so many features and functions, the TI-84 Plus graphing calculator can be a little intimidating. But fear not if you have this book in your hand! In it you'll find terrific tutorials ranging from mastering basic skills to advanced graphing and calculation techniques, along with countless examples and exercises that let you learn by doing. Using the TI-84 Plus, Second Edition starts by making you comfortable with the screens, buttons, and special vocabulary you'll use every time you fire up the TI-84 Plus. Then, you'll master key features and techniques while you tackle problems just like the ones you'll see in your math and science classes. You'll even get tips for using the TI-84 Plus on the SAT and ACT math sections! No advanced knowledge of math or science is required. What's Inside Learn hands-on with real examples and exercises Find specific answers fast Compliant with all models of the TI-83 Plus and TI-84 Plus Full coverage of the color-screen TI-84 Plus CE and TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition Christopher Mitchell, PhD. is a research scientist studying distributed systems, the founder of the programming and calculator support site cemetech.net, and the author of Manning's Programming the TI-83 Plus/ TI-84 Plus. Table of Contents PART 1 BASICS AND ALGEBRA ON THE TI-84 PLUS What can your calculator do? Get started with your calculator Basic graphing Variables, matrices, and lists PART 2 PRECALCULUS AND CALCULUS Expanding your graphing skills Precalculus and your calculator Calculus on the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus PART 3 STATISTICS, PROBABILITY, AND FINANCE Calculating and plotting statistics Working with probability and distributions Financial tools PART 4 GOING FURTHER WITH THE TI-83 PLUS/TI-84 PLUS Turbocharging math with programming The TI-84 Plus CE and TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition Now what?
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781617293153Publication Date: 2015-07-11 -
Ti-84 Plus Graphing Calculator for Dummies
by
Get up-to-speed on the functionality of your TI-84 Plus calculator Completely revised to cover the latest updates to the TI-84 Plus calculators, this bestselling guide will help you become the most savvy TI-84 Plus user in the classroom! Exploring the standard device, the updated device with USB plug and upgraded memory (the TI-84 Plus Silver Edition), and the upcoming color screen device, this book provides you with clear, understandable coverage of the TI-84's updated operating system. Details the new apps that are available for download to the calculator via the USB cable Walks you through menus and basic arithmetic Addresses graphing and analyzing functions as well as probability and statistics functions Explains how to use the calculator for geometry Reviews communicating with PCs and other calculators TI-84 Plus Graphic Calculator For Dummies, 2nd Edition is the perfect solution for getting comfortable with the new line of TI-84 calculators!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118592809Publication Date: 2013-05-17 -
Using the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus
by
Summary Using the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus is a hands-on guide to these powerful graphing calculators. This easy-to-follow book includes terrific tutorials and plenty of exercises and examples that let you learn by doing. It starts by giving you a hands-on orientation to the calculators so you'll be comfortable with the screens, buttons, and the special vocabulary they use. Then, you'll start exploring key features while you tackle problems just like the ones you'll see in your math and sciences classes. About this Book With so many features and functions, the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus graphing calculators can be a little intimidating. This book turns the tables and puts you in control! In it, you'll find terrific tutorials that guide you through the most important techniques, dozens of examples and exercises that let you learn by doing, and well-designed reference materials so you can find the answers to your questions fast. Using the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus starts by making you comfortable with these powerful calculator' screens, buttons, and special vocabulary. Then, you'll explore key features while you tackle problems just like the ones you'll see in your math and sciences classes. Written for anyone who wants to use the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus. No advanced knowledge of math and science is required. Purchase of the print book includes a free eBook in PDF, Kindle, and ePub formats from Manning Publications. What's Inside Get up and running with your calculator fast! Lots of examples Special tips for SAT and ACT math Covers the color-screen TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition About the Author Christopher Mitchell is a teacher, PhD candidate, and recognized leader in the calculator enthusiast community. You'll find Christopher (aka Kerm Martian) and his cadre of calculator experts answering questions and sharing advice on his website, cemetech.net. He is also the author of Manning's Programming the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus. Table of Contents PART 1 BASICS AND ALGEBRA ON THE TI-83 PLUS/TI-84 PLUS What can your calculator do? Get started with your calculator Basic graphing Variables, matrices, and lists PART 2 PRECALCULUS AND CALCULUS Expanding your graphing skills Precalculus and your calculator Calculus on the TI-83 Plus/TI-84 Plus PART 3 STATISTICS, PROBABILITY, AND FINANCE Calculating and plotting statistics Working with probability and distributions Financial tools PART 4 GOING FURTHER WITH THE TI-83 PLUS/TI-84 PLUS Turbocharging math with programming The TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition Now what?
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781617290848Publication Date: 2013-08-29
Courses
-
Schaum's Mathematical Handbook of Formulas and Tables
by
Suitable for students and research workers in mathematics, physics, engineering and other sciences, this work presents a compilation of mathematical formulas and tables. The topics range from elementary to advanced - from algebra, trigonometry and calculus to vector analysis, Bessel functions, Legendre polynomials, and elliptic integrals.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780070382039Publication Date: 1998-10-31 -
The Everything Everyday Math Book
by
The typical person may not need to use quadratic equations very often, but maths does play a large part in everyday life. We need to know how long a drive will take, what to tip the waiter, how large a rug to buy, and how to calculate a discount. 'The Everything Everyday Math Book' is a refresher course in all the basics readers need, including fractions, percentages, ratios, and the difference between area and perimeter. With this easy to follow guide, readers can leave their maths phobias behind forever! AUTHOR: Christopher Monhan is an instructor and trainer for Texas Instruments' Teachers Teaching with Technology professional development organisation since 2001. He is a retired teacher with more than 30 years of mathematics classroom experience at the college and high school levels.
Call Number: QA 93 .M625 2014ISBN: 9781440566431Publication Date: 2013-12-06 -
A Mind for Numbers
by
In A Mind for Numbers, Dr. Oakley lets us in on the secrets to effectively learning math and science, based on insights from neuroscience and cognitive psychology. Contrary to popular belief, math requires creative, as well as analytical, thinking. The companion book to COURSERA 's wildly popular massive open online course "Learning How to Learn" Whether you are a student struggling to fulfill a math or science requirement, or you are embarking on a career change that requires a new skill set, A Mind for Numbers offers the tools you need to get a better grasp of that intimidating material. Engineering professor Barbara Oakley knows firsthand how it feels to struggle with math. She flunked her way through high school math and science courses, before enlisting in the army immediately after graduation. When she saw how her lack of mathematical and technical savvy severely limited her options-both to rise in the military and to explore other careers-she returned to school with a newfound determination to re-tool her brain to master the very subjects that had given her so much trouble throughout her entire life. In A Mind for Numbers, Dr. Oakley lets us in on the secrets to learning effectively-secrets that even dedicated and successful students wish they'd known earlier. Contrary to popular belief, math requires creative, as well as analytical, thinking. Most people think that there's only one way to do a problem, when in actuality, there are often a number of different solutions-you just need the creativity to see them. For example, there are more than three hundred different known proofs of the Pythagorean Theorem. In short, studying a problem in a laser-focused way until you reach a solution is not an effective way to learn. Rather, it involves taking the time to step away from a problem and allow the more relaxed and creative part of the brain to take over. The learning strategies in this book apply not only to math and science, but to any subject in which we struggle. We all have what it takes to excel in areas that don't seem to come naturally to us at first, and learning them does not have to be as painful as we might think.
Call Number: QA 11.2 .O23 2014ISBN: 9780399165245Publication Date: 2014-07-31 -
-
-
-
Conquering Math Anxiety
by
Call Number: QA11.2 .A74 2003ISBN: 9780534386344Publication Date: 2002-02-21 -
-
-
101 Careers in Mathematics
by
Call Number: QA10.5 .A15 2014 / eBookISBN: 9780883857861Publication Date: 2014-12-30
-
CliffsQuickReview Basic Math and Pre-Algebra
by
CliffsQuickReview course guides cover the essentials of your toughest classes. Get a firm grip on core concepts and key material, and test your newfound knowledge with review questions. Whether you're new to fractions, decimals, and percentages or just brushing up on those topics, CliffsQuickReview Basic Math and Pre-Algebra can help. This guide introduces each topic, defines key terms, and walks you through each sample problem step-by-step. In no time, you'll be ready to tackle other concepts in this book such as Factors and prime numbers Integers, exponents, and scientific notation Measurements, the metric system, and graphs Variables and algebraic equations CliffsQuickReview Basic Math and Pre-Algebra acts as a supplement to your textbook and to classroom lectures. Use this reference in any way that fits your personal style for study and review - you decide what works best with your needs. Here are just a few ways you can search for topics: Use the free Pocket Guide full of essential information Get a glimpse of what you'll gain from a chapter by reading through the Chapter Check-In at the beginning of each chapter Use the Chapter Checkout at the end of each chapter to gauge your grasp of the important information you need to know Test your knowledge more completely in the CQR Review and look for additional sources of information in the CQR Resource Center Use the glossary to find key terms fast. With titles available for all the most popular high school and college courses, CliffsQuickReview guides are a comprehensive resource that can help you get the best possible grades.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780764523670Publication Date: 2001-06-01 -
Algebra: A complete introduction
by
Algebra: A Complete Introduction is the most comprehensive yet easy-to-use introduction to using Algebra. Written by a leading expert, this book will help you if you are studying for an important exam or essay, or if you simply want to improve your knowledge. The book covers all the key areas of algebra including elementary operations, linear equations, formulae, simultaneous equations, quadratic equations, logarithms, variation, law and sequences. Everything you will need is here in this one book. Each chapter includes not only an explanation of the knowledge and skills you need, but also worked examples and test questions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781473678415Publication Date: 2018-07-24 -
Bob Miller's Algebra for the Clueless
by
This algebra book is a prequel to the author's calculus series and presents a two-semester high school or college math course in algebra one and two. The author attempts to explain all topics clearly, and anticipate students' difficulties and confusions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0070434255Publication Date: 1998-12-31 -
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Algebra
by
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Algebrahas been updated to include easier-to-read graphs and additional practice problems. It covers variations of standard problems that will assist students with their algebra courses, along with all the basic concepts, including linear equations and inequalities, polynomials, exponents and logarithms, conic sections, discrete math, word problems and more. Written in an easy-to-comprehend style to make math concepts approachable Award-winning math teacher and author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Calculusand the bestselling advanced placement book in ARCO's "Master" series
Call Number: QA 152.3 K43 2007ISBN: 9781592576487Publication Date: 2007-07-03 -
Painless Algebra
by
Titles in Barron's extensive Painless Series cover a wide range of subjects as they are taught on middle school and high school levels. These books are written for students who find the subjects unusually difficult and confusing--or in many cases, just plain boring. Barron's Painless Series authors' main goal is to clear up students' confusion and perk up their interest by emphasizing the intriguing and often exciting ways in which they can put each subject to practical use. Most of these books take a light-hearted approach to their subjects, often employing humor, and always presenting fun-learning exercises that include puzzles, games, and challenging "Brain Tickler" problems to solve. This title defines algebraic terms, shows how to avoid pitfalls in calculation, presents painless methods for understanding and graphing equations, and makes problem-solving fun. ATTENTION STUDENTS: You get a special FREE bonus when you purchase your copy of Barron's Painless Algebra Barron's is taking Painless to the next level: FUN! Sealed inside your copy of Painless Algebra, you'll find a code that gives you access to a FREE app. Simply key in that code on your iPhone, iTouch, iPad or Android device, and you download a fun-to-play Algebra arcade game challenge that will reinforce your skill in mastering Algebra!
Call Number: QA 152.3 .L66 2011ISBN: 9780764147159Publication Date: 2011-08-01 -
Practical Algebra
by
Practical Algebra If you studied algebra years ago and now need arefresher course in order to use algebraic principles on the job,or if you're a student who needs an introduction to the subject,here's the perfect book for you. Practical Algebra is an easy andfun-to-use workout program that quickly puts you in command of allthe basic concepts and tools of algebra. With the aid of practical,real-life examples and applications, you'll learn: * The basic approach and application of algebra to problemsolving * The number system (in a much broader way than you have known itfrom arithmetic) * Monomials and polynomials; factoring algebraic expressions; howto handle algebraic fractions; exponents, roots, and radicals;linear and fractional equations * Functions and graphs; quadratic equations; inequalities; ratio,proportion, and variation; how to solve word problems, andmore Authors Peter Selby and Steve Slavin emphasize practical algebrathroughout by providing you with techniques for solving problems ina wide range of disciplines--from engineering, biology, chemistry,and the physical sciences, to psychology and even sociology andbusiness administration. Step by step, Practical Algebra shows youhow to solve algebraic problems in each of these areas, then allowsyou to tackle similar problems on your own, at your own pace.Self-tests are provided at the end of each chapter so you canmeasure your mastery.
Call Number: QA 154.2 .S44 1991ISBN: 9780471530121Publication Date: 1991-09-03 -
The Cartoon Guide to Algebra
by
In this latest edition to the successful Cartoon Guide series, master cartoonist and former Harvard instructor Larry Gonick offers a complete and up-to-date illustrated course to help students understand and learn this core mathematical course taught in American schools. Using engaging graphics and lively humor, Gonick covers all of the algebra essentials, including linear equations, polynomials, quadratic equations, and graphing techniques. He also offers a concise overview of algebra's history and its many practical applications in modern life. Combining Gonick's unique ability to make difficult topics fun, interesting, and easy-to-understand--while still relaying the essential information in a clear, organized and accurate format--The Cartoon Guide to Algebra is an essential supplement for students of all levels, in high school, college, and beyond.
Call Number: QA 155 .G66 2015ISBN: 9780062202697Publication Date: 2015-01-20 -
Guide to Algebra
by
Whether you need help solving equations or determining the slope of a line, this guide gives you the tools you need to find your answers! Beginning with the basics, you will learn and practice all the skills needed to enhance your algebra expertise. This comprehensive guide covers all the key concepts, including: Variables and expressions Linear equations and inequalities Monomials and polynomials Exponents Rational expressions The Pythagorean theorem Area and perimeter Graphs and charts Inside you'll find hundreds of examples to illustrate the basics and plenty of exercises to ensure mastery of these fundamentals. No matter if you're a student looking for a companion to your textbook, or a curious learner who's been away from the classroom too long, this will be your indispensable algebra primer.
Call Number: QA 159.2 .M66 2011ISBN: 9781440504587Publication Date: 2011-07-18
-
Schaum's Easy Outline of College Algebra
by
Boiled-down essentials of the top-selling Schaum's Outline series for the student with limited time What could be better than the bestselling Schaum's Outline series? For students looking for a quick nuts-and-bolts overview, it would have to be Schaum's Easy Outline series. Every book in this series is a pared-down, simplified, and tightly focused version of its predecessor. With an emphasis on clarity and brevity, each new title features a streamlined and updated format and the absolute essence of the subject, presented in a concise and readily understandable form. Graphic elements such as sidebars, reader-alert icons, and boxed highlights stress selected points from the text, illuminate keys to learning, and give students quick pointers to the essentials. Designed to appeal to underprepared students and readers turned off by dense text Cartoons, sidebars, icons, and other graphic pointers get the material across fast Concise text focuses on the essence of the subject Delivers expert help from teachers who are authorities in their fields Perfect for last-minute test preparation So small and light that they fit in a backpack!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071368629Publication Date: 2000-12-01 -
College Algebra DeMYSTiFieD, 2nd Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Don't let quadratic equations make you irrational If you are absolutely confused by absolute value equations, or you think parabolas are short moralstories, College Algebra DeMYSTiFied, Second Edition is your solution to mastering the topic's concepts and theories at your own pace. This thoroughly revised and updated guide eases you into the subject, beginning with the math fundamentals then introducing you to this advancedform of algebra. As you progress, you will learn howto simplify rational expressions, divide complex numbers, and solve quadratic equations. You will understand the difference between odd and even functions and no longer be confused by the multiplicity of zeros. Detailed examples make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapterquizzes and a final exam help reinforce key ideas. It's a no-brainer! You'll learn about: The x-y coordinate plane Lines and intercepts The FOIL method Functions Nonlinear equations Graphs of functions Exponents and logarithms Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, College Algebra DeMYSTiFieD, Second Edition is your shortcut to a working knowledge of this engaging subject.
Call Number: QA 152.3 .H853 2014ISBN: 9780071815840Publication Date: 2013-12-27 -
-
College Algebra : Factoring and Equations
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781606508305Publication Date: 2015 -
College Algebra : Number Theory and Polynomials.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781606508299Publication Date: 2015 -
College Algebra : Special Equations, Functions, and Logarithms.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781606508329Publication Date: 2015 -
College Algebra : Co-Ordinate Geometry, Systems of Equations, and Radicals.
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781606508312Publication Date: 2015
-
Statistics: a Very Short Introduction
by
Statistical ideas and methods underlie just about every aspect of modern life. From randomized clinical trials in medical research, to statistical models of risk in banking and hedge fund industries, to the statistical tools used to probe vast astronomical databases, the field of statistics has become centrally important to how we understand our world. But the discipline underlying all these is not the dull statistics of the popular imagination. Long gone are the days of manual arithmetic manipulation. Nowadays statistics is a dynamic discipline, revolutionized by the computer, which uses advanced software tools to probe numerical data, seeking structures, patterns, and relationships. This Very Short Introduction sets the study of statistics in context, describing its history and giving examples of its impact, summarizes methods of gathering and evaluating data, and explains the role played by the science of chance, of probability, in statistical methods. The book also explores deep philosophical issues of induction--how we use statistics to discern the true nature of reality from the limited observations we necessarily must make. About the Series: Combining authority with wit, accessibility, and style, Very Short Introductions offer an introduction to some of life's most interesting topics. Written by experts for the newcomer, they demonstrate the finest contemporary thinking about the central problems and issues in hundreds of key topics, from philosophy to Freud, quantum theory to Islam.
Call Number: QA 276 .H3183 2008 / eBookISBN: 9780199233564Publication Date: 2008-12-15 -
Statistics, 3E
by
Statistics is a class that is required in many college majors, and it's an increasingly popular Advanced Placement (AP) high school course. In addition to math and technical students, many business and liberal arts students are required to take it as a fundamental component of their majors. A knowledge of statistical interpretation is vital for many careers. Idiot's Guides®: Statistics explains the fundamental tenets in language anyone can understand. Content includes: - Calculating descriptive statistics. - Measures of central tendency: mean, median, and mode. - Probability. - Variance analysis. - Inferential statistics. - Hypothesis testing. - Organizing data into statistical charts and tables.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781465451668Publication Date: 2016-07-12 -
E-Z Statistics
by
Known for many years as Barron's Easy Way Series, the new editions of these popular self-teaching titles are now Barron's E-Z Series. Brand-new cover designs reflect all new page layouts, which feature extensive two-color treatment, a fresh, modern typeface, and more graphic material than ever-- charts, graphs, diagrams, instructive line illustrations, and where appropriate, amusing cartoons. Meanwhile, the quality of the books' contents remains at least as high as ever. Barron's E-Z books are self-help manuals focused to improve students' grades in a wide variety of academic and practical subjects. For most subjects, the level of difficulty ranges between high school and college-101 standards. Although primarily designed as self-teaching manuals, these books are also preferred by many teachers as classroom supplements--and for some courses, as main textbooks. E-Z books review their subjects in detail, and feature both short quizzes and longer tests with answers to help students gauge their learning progress. Subject heads and key phrases are set in a second color as an easy reference aid. Barron's E-Z Statistics presents easy-to-understand explanations of probability, random variables, distributions, laws of large numbers and the central limit theorem, polls and sampling, linear regression, and much more. Hundreds of exercises with selected answers.
Call Number: QA 276.12 .D68 2009ISBN: 9780764139789Publication Date: 2009-08-01 -
Cartoon Guide to Statistics
by
If you have ever looked for P-values by shopping at P mart, tried to watch the Bernoulli Trails on "People's Court," or think that the standard deviation is a criminal offense in six states, then you need The Cartoon Guide to Statistics to put you on the road to statistical literacy. The Cartoon Guide to Statistics covers all the central ideas of modern statistics: the summary and display of data, probability in gambling and medicine, random variables, Bernoulli Trails, the Central Limit Theorem, hypothesis testing, confidence interval estimation, and much more--all explained in simple, clear, and yes, funny illustrations. Never again will you order the Poisson Distribution in a French restaurant! This updated version features all new material.
Call Number: QA 276.12 .G67 1993ISBN: 9780062731029Publication Date: 1993-07-14 -
The Manga Guide to Statistics
by
Think you can't have fun learning statistics? Think again. The Manga Guide to Statistics will teach you everything you need to know about this essential discipline, while entertaining you at the same time. With its unique combination of Japanese-style comics called manga and serious educational content, the EduManga format is already a hit in Japan. In The Manga Guide to Statistics, our heroine Rui is determined to learn about statistics to impress the dreamy Mr. Igarashi and begs her father for a tutor. Soon she's spending her Saturdays with geeky, bespectacled Mr. Yamamoto, who patiently teaches her all about the fundamentals of statistics: topics like data categorization, averages, graphing, and standard deviation. After all her studying, Rui is confident in her knowledge of statistics, including complex concepts like probability, coefficients of correlation, hypothesis tests, and tests of independence. But is it enough to impress her dream guy? Or maybe there's someone better, rig
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781593271893Publication Date: 2008-11-15 -
Statistics for Dummies
by
The fun and easy way to get down to business with statistics Stymied by statistics? No fear? this friendly guide offers clear, practical explanations of statistical ideas, techniques, formulas, and calculations, with lots of examples that show you how these concepts apply to your everyday life. Statistics For Dummies shows you how to interpret and critique graphs and charts, determine the odds with probability, guesstimate with confidence using confidence intervals, set up and carry out a hypothesis test, compute statistical formulas, and more. Tracks to a typical first semester statistics course Updated examples resonate with today's students Explanations mirror teaching methods and classroom protocol Packed with practical advice and real-world problems, Statistics For Dummies gives you everything you need to analyze and interpret data for improved classroom or on-the-job performance.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119176015Publication Date: 2015-07-13
-
Trigonometry Demystified
by
Provides a fun and effective way to learn the fundamentals and general concepts of trigonometry. This book uses prose and illustrations to describe the concepts. It helps you learn various aspects of trigonometry: how angles are expressed; the relationships between angles and distances; and, calculating distances based on parallax.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 0071416315Publication Date: 2003-06-26 -
CliffsQuickReview Trigonometry
by
CliffsQuickReview course guides cover the essentials of your toughest classes. Get a firm grip on core concepts and key material, and test your newfound knowledge with review questions. CliffsQuickReview Trigonometry provides you with all you need to know to understand the basic concepts of trigonometry — whether you need a supplement to your textbook and classes or an at-a-glance reference. Trigonometry isn't just measuring angles; it has many applications in the real world, such as in navigation, surveying, construction, and many other branches of science, including mathematics and physics. As you work your way through this review, you'll be ready to tackle such concepts asTrigonometric functions, such as sines and cosinesGraphs and trigonometric identitiesVectors, polar coordinates, and complex numbersInverse functions and equations You can use CliffsQuickReview Trigonometry in any way that fits your personal style for study and review — you decide what works best with your needs. You can read the book from cover to cover or just look for the information you want and put it back on the shelf for later. Here are just a few ways you can search for topics:Use the free Pocket Guide full of essential informationGet a glimpse of what you’ll gain from a chapter by reading through the Chapter Check-In at the beginning of each chapterUse the Chapter Checkout at the end of each chapter to gauge your grasp of the important information you need to knowTest your knowledge more completely in the CQR Review and look for additional sources of information in the CQR Resource CenterUse the glossary to find key terms fast With titles available for all the most popular high school and college courses, CliffsQuickReview guides are a comprehensive resource that can help you get the best possible grades.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780764523939Publication Date: 2001-09-15 -
Trigonometry for Dummies
by
A plain-English guide to the basics of trig Trigonometry deals with the relationship between the sides and angles of triangles... mostly right triangles. In practical use, trigonometry is a friend to astronomers who use triangulation to measure the distance between stars. Trig also has applications in fields as broad as financial analysis, music theory, biology, medical imaging, cryptology, game development, and seismology. From sines and cosines to logarithms, conic sections, and polynomials, this friendly guide takes the torture out of trigonometry, explaining basic concepts in plain English and offering lots of easy-to-grasp example problems. It also explains the "why" of trigonometry, using real-world examples that illustrate the value of trigonometry in a variety of careers. Tracks to a typical Trigonometry course at the high school or college level Packed with example trig problems From the author of Trigonometry Workbook For Dummies Trigonometry For Dummies is for any student who needs an introduction to, or better understanding of, high-school to college-level trigonometry.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118827468Publication Date: 2014-02-06 -
Math Girls Talk about Trigonometry
by
Math Girls Talk About Trigonometry explores a variety of fun and informative topics in trigonometry, from basics like defining the sine and cosine functions, to less frequently seen topics like Lissajous curves and different ways of deriving the value of pi. These topics are introduced through conversations between the characters from the Math Girls series, offering a fun way to learn this serious content. Each chapter comes with review problems and answers, and an appendix gives more challenging, open-ended problems for readers wanting to push the limits of their understanding. This book is the third in a series aimed at preparing students for advanced mathematics studies.
Call Number: QA 41.7 .Y85 2014ISBN: 9781939326263Publication Date: 2014-12-11
-
Schaum's Easy Outline of Precalculus
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071398404Publication Date: 2002-01-01 -
Precalculus
by
The fastest, easiest way to master precalculus . . . by doing it Do logarithmic functions throw you for a loop? Does the challenge of finding an inverse function leave you overwhelmed? Does the Law of Cosines make you feel clueless? With this helpful, easy-to-follow guide, you will gain total command of these precalc concepts-and many more-in no time at all. "Precalculus: A Self-Teaching Guide" includes an algebra review and complete coverage of exponential functions, log functions, and trigonometry. Whether you are studying precalculus for the first time, want to refresh your memory, or need a little help for a course, this clear, interactive primer will provide you with the skills you need. "Precalculus" offers a proven self-teaching approach that lets you work at your own pace-and the frequent self-tests and exercises reinforce what you've learned. Turn to this one-of-a-kind teaching tool and, before you know it, you'll be solving problems like a mathematician
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780471437246Publication Date: 2004-03-29 -
Pre-Calculus for Dummies
by
The fun and easy way to learn pre-calculus Getting ready for calculus but still feel a bit confused? Have no fear. Pre-Calculus For Dummies is an un-intimidating, hands-on guide that walks you through all the essential topics, from absolute value and quadratic equations to logarithms and exponential functions to trig identities and matrix operations. With this guide's help you'll quickly and painlessly get a handle on all of the concepts -- not just the number crunching -- and understand how to perform all pre-calc tasks, from graphing to tackling proofs. You'll also get a new appreciation for how these concepts are used in the real world, and find out that getting a decent grade in pre-calc isn't as impossible as you thought. Updated with fresh example equations and detailed explanations Tracks to a typical pre-calculus class Serves as an excellent supplement to classroom learning If "the fun and easy way to learn pre-calc" seems like a contradiction, get ready for a wealth of surprises in Pre-Calculus For Dummies!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118226476Publication Date: 2012-06-06 -
PreCalculus the Easy Way
by
An experienced math instructor and teacher trainer helps to make PreCalculus easy--even for students who feel intimidated by more advanced math topics. His orderly, step-by-step approach begins with concepts and skills typically introduced in a first-year high-school-level algebra course then progresses to advanced algebra and trigonometry, needed for the study of calculus. The lesson format and step-by-step demonstration examples are designed for self-teaching and rapid learning. Special math tips help resolve student difficulties and are strategically located throughout the text. Major topics include: algebra; graphs and graphing calculator methods; complex numbers; polynomial and rational functions; exponential and logarithmic functions; fitting lines and curves to data; trigonometry and polar coordinates; conic sections and parametric equations; counting and probability; binomial theorem; and probabilities. Check-up exercises at the end of each chapter help students monitor their progress.
Call Number: QA 154.3 .L43 2005ISBN: 9780764128929Publication Date: 2005-05-01 -
Pre-Calculus Super Review
by
Get all you need to know with Super Reviews! Each Super Review is packed with in-depth, student-friendly topic reviews that fully explain everything about the subject. The Pre-Calculus Super Review includes sets, numbers, operations and properties, coordinate geometry, fundamental algebraic topics, solving equations and inequalities, functions, trigonometry, exponents and logarithms, conic sections, matrices, and determinants. Take the Super Review quizzes to see how much you've learned - and where you need more study. Makes an excellent study aid and textbook companion. Great for self-study! DETAILS - From cover to cover, each in-depth topic review is easy-to-follow and easy-to-grasp - Perfect when preparing for homework, quizzes, and exams! - Review questions after each topic that highlight and reinforce key areas and concepts - Student-friendly language for easy reading and comprehension - Includes quizzes that test your understanding of the subject
Call Number: QA 331.3 .P74 2000ISBN: 9780878910885Publication Date: 2000-06-02
-
Quick Calculus
by
Discover an accessible and easy-to-use guide to calculus fundamentals In Quick Calculus: A Self-Teaching Guide, 3rd Edition, a team of expert MIT educators delivers a hands-on and practical handbook to essential calculus concepts and terms. The author explores calculus techniques and applications, showing readers how to immediately implement the concepts discussed within to help solve real-world problems. In the book, readers will find: An accessible introduction to the basics of differential and integral calculus An interactive self-teaching guide that offers frequent questions and practice problems with solutions. A format that enables them to monitor their progress and gauge their knowledge This latest edition provides new sections, rewritten introductions, and worked examples that demonstrate how to apply calculus concepts to problems in physics, health sciences, engineering, statistics, and other core sciences. Quick Calculus: A Self-Teaching Guide, 3rd Edition is an invaluable resource for students and lifelong learners hoping to strengthen their foundations in calculus.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119743484Publication Date: 2022-04-19 -
Calculus for Dummies
by
Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118791295) is now being published as Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293491). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. Slay the calculus monster with this user-friendly guide Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition makes calculus manageable--even if you're one of the many students who sweat at the thought of it. By breaking down differentiation and integration into digestible concepts, this guide helps you build a stronger foundation with a solid understanding of the big ideas at work. This user-friendly math book leads you step-by-step through each concept, operation, and solution, explaining the "how" and "why" in plain English instead of math-speak. Through relevant instruction and practical examples, you'll soon learn that real-life calculus isn't nearly the monster it's made out to be. Calculus is a required course for many college majors, and for students without a strong math foundation, it can be a real barrier to graduation. Breaking that barrier down means recognizing calculus for what it is--simply a tool for studying the ways in which variables interact. It's the logical extension of the algebra, geometry, and trigonometry you've already taken, and Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition proves that if you can master those classes, you can tackle calculus and win. Includes foundations in algebra, trigonometry, and pre-calculus concepts Explores sequences, series, and graphing common functions Instructs you how to approximate area with integration Features things to remember, things to forget, and things you can't get away with Stop fearing calculus, and learn to embrace the challenge. With this comprehensive study guide, you'll gain the skills and confidence that make all the difference. Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides a roadmap for success, and the backup you need to get there.
Call Number: QA 303.2 .R93 2014 / eBookISBN: 9781118791332Publication Date: 2014-06-23 -
How to Solve Word Problems in Calculus
by
Considered to be the hardest mathematical problems to solve, word problems continue to terrify students across all math disciplines. This new title in the World Problems series demystifies these difficult problems once and for all by showing even the most math-phobic readers simple, step-by-step tips and techniques. How to Solve World Problems in Calculus reviews important concepts in calculus and provides solved problems and step-by-step solutions. Once students have mastered the basic approaches to solving calculus word problems, they will confidently apply these new mathematical principles to even the most challenging advanced problems. Each chapter features an introduction to a problem type, definitions, related theorems, and formulas. Topics range from vital pre-calculus review to traditional calculus first-course content. Sample problems with solutions and a 50-problem chapter are ideal for self-testing. Fully explained examples with step-by-step solutions.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780071386807Publication Date: 2001-06-01 -
Conquering Calculus
by
Jefferson Hane Weaver co-authored (with Lloyd Motz) the highly popular book Conquering Mathematics. He received his M.A., his M.Phil., and his Ph.D. at the Columbia Graduate School of the Arts and Sciences. He lives in Fort Lauderdale with his wife, Shelley, and his four children.
Call Number: QA 303 .W387 1998ISBN: 9780306459887Publication Date: 1998-08-21 -
Calculus Essentials for Dummies
by
Many colleges and universities require students to take at least one math course, and Calculus I is often the chosen option. Calculus Essentials For Dummies provides explanations of key concepts for students who may have taken calculus in high school and want to review the most important concepts as they gear up for a faster-paced college course. Free of review and ramp-up material, Calculus Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point with content focused on key topics only. It provides discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school calculus class or a college level Calculus I course, from limits and differentiation to integration and infinite series. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical calculus concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470618356Publication Date: 2010-05-17 -
The Cartoon Guide to Calculus
by
"In Gonick's work, clever design and illustration make complicated ideas or insights strikingly clear." --New York Times Book Review Larry Gonick, master cartoonist, former Harvard instructor, and creator of the New York Times bestselling, Harvey Award-winning Cartoon Guide series now does for calculus what he previously did for science and history: making a complex subject comprehensible, fascinating, and fun through witty text and light-hearted graphics. Gonick's The Cartoon Guide to Calculus is a refreshingly humorous, remarkably thorough guide to general calculus that, like his earlier Cartoon Guide to Physics and Cartoon History of the Modern World, will prove a boon to students, educators, and eager learners everywhere.
Call Number: QA 303.2 .G664 2012ISBN: 9780061689093Publication Date: 2011-12-27
-
The Manga Guide to Linear Algebra
by
Reiji wants two things in life- a black belt in karate and Misa, the girl of his dreams. Luckily, Misa's big brother is the captain of the university karate club and is ready to strike a deal- Reiji can join the club if he tutors Misa in linear algebra. Follow along in The Manga Guide to Linear Algebra as Reiji takes Misa from the absolute basics of this tricky subject through mind-bending operations like performing linear transformations, calculating determinants, and finding eigenvectors and eigenvalues. With memorable examples like miniature golf games and karate tournaments, Reiji transforms abstract concepts into something concrete, understandable, and even fun. As you follow Misa through her linear algebra crash course, you'll learn about- -Basic vector and matrix operations such as addition, subtraction, and multiplication -Linear dependence, independence, and bases -Using Gaussian elimination to calculate inverse matrices -Subspaces, dimension, and linear span -Practical applications of linear algebra in fields like computer graphics, cryptography, and engineering But Misa's brother may get more than he bargained for as sparks start to fly between student and tutor. Will Reiji end up with the girl-or just a pummeling from her oversized brother? Real math, real romance, and real action come together like never before in The Manga Guide to Linear Algebra.
Call Number: GV QA 184.2 .T3513 2012 / eBookISBN: 9781593274139Publication Date: 2012-05-01 -
Linear Algebra
by
In the spirit of the author's Basic Language of Mathematics, this companion volume is a careful exposition of the concepts and processes of Linear Algebra. It stresses cautious and clear explanations, avoiding reliance on co-ordinates as much as possible, and with special, but not exclusive, attention to the finite-dimensional situation. It is intended to also serve as a conceptual and technical background for use in geometry and analysis as well as other applications.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789814623490Publication Date: 2014-10-01 -
Linear Algebra: Step by Step
by
Linear algebra is a fundamental area of mathematics, and is arguably the most powerful mathematical tool ever developed. It is a core topic of study within fields as diverse as: business, economics, engineering, physics, computer science, ecology, sociology, demography and genetics. For an example of linear algebra at work, one needs to look no further than the Google search engine, which relies upon linear algebra to rank the results of a search with respect to relevance. The strength of the text is in the large number of examples and the step-by-step explanation of each topic as it is introduced. It is compiled in a way that allows distance learning, with explicit solutions to set problems freely available online. The miscellaneous exercises at the end of each chapter comprise questions from past exam papers from various universities, helping to reinforce the reader's confidence. Also included, generally at the beginning of sections, are short historical biographies of the leading players in the field of linear algebra to provide context for the topics covered. The dynamic and engaging style of the book includes frequent question and answer sections to test the reader's understanding of the methods introduced, rather than requiring rote learning. When first encountered, the subject can appear abstract and students will sometimes struggle to see its relevance; to counter this, the book also contains interviews with key people who use linear algebra in practice, in both professional and academic life. It will appeal to undergraduate students in mathematics, the physical sciences and engineering.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781299999275Publication Date: 2013-01-01 -
-
-
