What is a zine?
Zine, pronounced zeen. They are independently made publications that can be about any topic. Many zines are written for and by marginalized groups and provide a way for authors who may be underrepresented in mainstream publishing to share their writing with others. Zines can contain a wide variety of content and subjects such as poetry, political issues, art, social activism, LGBTQ, creative writing, personal narratives, Chicanx culture, and more.
Learn more about the history of zines, how to make a zine, submit your own zine and the new zine collection in the library.
This template will help you organize the information you gathered from your research on your career choice. Create a Works Cited page in NoodleTools, export it, then copy and paste into your zine template.
Gun Violence and Mental Illness by
Perhaps never before has an objective, evidence-based review of the intersection between gun violence and mental illness been more sorely needed or more timely. Gun Violence and Mental Illness, written by a multidisciplinary roster of authors who are leaders in the fields of mental health, public health, and public policy, is a practical guide to the issues surrounding the relation between firearms deaths and mental illness. Tragic mass shootings that capture headlines reinforce the mistaken beliefs that people with mental illness are violent and responsible for much of the gun violence in the United States. This misconception stigmatizes individuals with mental illness and distracts us from the awareness that approximately 65% of all firearm deaths each year are suicides. This book is an apolitical exploration of the misperceptions and realities that attend gun violence and mental illness. The authors frame both pressing social issues as public health problems subject to a variety of interventions on individual and collective levels, including utilization of a novel perspective: evidence-based interventions focusing on assessments and indicators of dangerousness, with or without indications of mental illness. Reader-friendly, well-structured, and accessible to professional and lay audiences, the book: * Reviews the epidemiology of gun violence and its relationship to mental illness, exploring what we know about those who perpetrate mass shootings and school shootings. * Examines the current legal provisions for prohibiting access to firearms for those with mental illness and whether these provisions and new mandated reporting interventions are effective or whether they reinforce negative stereotypes associated with mental illness. * Discusses the issues raised in accessing mental health treatment in regard to diminished treatment resources, barriers to access, and involuntary commitment.* Explores novel interventions for addressing these issues from a multilevel and multidisciplinary public health perspective that does not stigmatize people with mental illness. This includes reviews of suicide risk assessment; increasing treatment engagement; legal, social, and psychiatric means of restricting access to firearms when people are in crisis; and, when appropriate, restoration of firearm rights. Mental health clinicians and trainees will especially appreciate the risk assessment strategies presented here, and mental health, public health, and public policy researchers will find Gun Violence and Mental Illness a thoughtful and thought-provoking volume that eschews sensationalism and embraces serious scholarship.
The Gun Debate by
Even before the recent Newtown, CT massacre, gun violence and gun control has preoccupied public officals and legislators at all levels of government as well as powerful special interest groups for years.Guns in America: What Everyone Needs to Know tours the issues that Americans debate when they talk about guns. The volume includes information on gun control pertaining to U.S. history, jurisprudence, cultural beliefs, political agendas, epidemiologcal data, criminology, law and regulation, andpolicy effectivness. Throughout, economist Philip J. Cook and political scientist Kristin Goss illustrate for readers which questions and issues are contentious and on which there is something approaching consensus.They answer basic questions like: Where do people acquire guns? Is gun violence rising or falling? Who is at risk for being shot? How much does gun violence cost? And tackle tougher ones such as: Do video games and the media contribute to gun violence? Why is the gun control movement relativelyweak? Is it better to enforce the laws we have or enact new ones?The answers to these questions will help the general reader to make sense of the volley of ideologically driven statistics and slogans that characterize our national conversation on firearms. This book is a must-read for anyone interested in getting a clear view of the highly polarizing topic of guncontrol.
Gun Control by
Americans are sharply divided on the issue of gun control. Some people believe that inadequate gun laws make the United States a dangerous place. They believe that stricter laws could keep guns away from children, criminals, and people with serious mental illness. Gun-control supporters say that reducing the number of guns in society also reduces the number of gun deaths. Other people strongly disagree. They believe that the shooters--not their guns--are to blame for gun-related deaths. Gun-rights activists argue that most gun owners are law-abiding citizens who actually prevent crime. They point out that existing gun laws strip Americans' basic rights while failing to keep guns away from dangerous people. Making sense of the gun-control debate involves looking at the facts, studying the statistics, examining the laws, and listening to views on both sides. It also means asking tough questions: * Where do we draw the line between acceptable self-defense and excessive protection? * When should a person have to forfeit his or her gun rights? Is it ever OK for the government to restrict gun rights? * Should Americans be able to own any and all arms? Or should the government control which weapons are allowed? * Do background checks slow the flow of guns to people who shouldn't have them? Or are they useless invasions of privacy? * How can the government balance individual rights and the safety of society? To answer these questions, this book examines the history of U.S. gun ownership as well as current federal, state, and local laws. It provides the opinions and perspectives of government leaders, historians, activists, and ordinary Americans on both sides of the issue. Supplemented with quotes, anecdotes, and discussions from the pages of USA TODAY, The Nation's No. 1 Newspaper, this book will broaden your understanding of all sides of the issue and help you form your own opinion, either for or against gun control.
Under Fire by
Originally published in 1993, Under Fire was widely hailed as the first objective examination of the NRA and its efforts to defeat gun control legislation. Now in this expanded edition, Osha Gray Davidson shows how the NRA's extremism has cost the organization both political power and popular support. He offers a well-reasoned and workable approach to gun control, one that will find many supporters even among the NRA membership.
The Gun Debate by
With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this new third edition of The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights is a must-have resource for all libraries. Over 350 entries provide in-depth coverage of both sides of the gun debate. Updated and expanded coverage includes new entries on recent gun laws and legislation, coverage of mass shootings and gun incidents, plus new information from the groups who support gun rights, and those who support gun control in the United States. Content is arranged using a balanced and unbiased approach to this controversial issue. Easy-to-use A-Z format, with numerous cross-references. Detailed Preface and Introduction provide the reader with a useful background to the gun debate in America. Expanded Primary Documents Section, including speeches, articles, and legislation surrounding the gun debate. Appendix 1: State Constitutional Gun Rights Provisions & Stand Your Ground laws. Appendix 2: Statutory and Constitutional Provisions Relating to the Purchase, Ownership, and Use of Firearms. Appendix 3: List of Organizations. Updated Chronology, now including key 2016 legislation and shooting incidents. Bibliography, Subject Index & New Category Index. Available in print and ebook formats. Combining the history of this important issue with current events and current viewpoints, this new third edition will be an important addition to public, university and high school libraries.
How America Got Its Guns by
In the United States more than thirty thousand deaths each year can be attributed to firearms. This book on the history of guns in America examines the Second Amendment and the laws and court cases it has spawned. The author's thorough and objective account shows the complexities of the issue, which are so often reduced to bumper-sticker slogans, and suggests ways in which gun violence in this country can be reduced. Briggs profiles not only protagonists in the national gun debate but also ordinary people, showing the ways guns have become part of the lives of many Americans. Among them are gays and lesbians, women, competitive trapshooters, people in the gun-rights and gun-control trenches, the NRA's first female president, and the most successful gunsmith in American history. Balanced and painstakingly unbiased, Briggs's account provides the background needed to follow gun politics in America and to understand the gun culture in which we are likely to live for the foreseeable future.
Opinions Throughout History: Guns in America by
This new series from Grey House offers in-depth, single volumes that follow the debate, or path, to a decision on a controversial topic as it evolved throughout history. Each volume offers a wide range of opinion essays and editorials, speeches, and journal articles and expert analysis.