**(Image from Randolph Community College Library)**
Crime and Social Policy by
Crime and Social Policy provides an invaluable examination of the relationship between social policy and crime. It draws on recent empirical research to offer important insights into the impact of current social policy trends on the lives of offenders. Provides an invaluable examination of the critical relationship between social policy and crime management Includes illuminating case studies on the impact of social policies on offenders Reviews current social policy trends and their influence on crime causation, crime rates, and crime management Discusses the role for social policy in promoting more effective reintegration of offenders into the community Draws on recent empirical research ranging from youth crime, anti-social behaviour, 'problematic families', and social security fraud The collection offers important insights into the impact of current social policy trends on the lives of offenders
Criminological Theories by
With a focus on empirical evaluation and practical application, Criminological Theories: Introduction, Evaluation, and Application, Seventh Edition, helps students draw connections between criminological theory and practical applications. In clear, engaging language, authors Ronald L. Akers, Christine S. Sellers, and Wesley G. Jennings explore each principal criminological theory using a three-part analysis: An Introduction presents a succinct exposition of the theory's central concepts, assertions, and hypotheses An Evaluation provides a detailed critique of the theory, with an emphasis on empirical validity An Application extends the evaluation to determine each theory's relevance and its potential for controlling and preventing crime and delinquency
Essential Criminology by
In the fourth edition ofEssential Criminology, authors Mark M. Lanier, Stuart Henry, and Desiré J.M. Anastasia build upon this best-selling critical review of criminology, which has become essential reading for students of criminology in the 21st century. Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts,Essential Criminology is, as its title implies, a concise overview of the field. The book guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured. It then covers the major theories of crime, from individual-level, classical, and rational choice to biological, psychological, social learning, social control, and interactionist perspectives. In this latest edition, the authors explore the kind of criminology that is needed for the globally interdependent twenty-first century. With cutting-edge updates, illustrative real-world examples, and new study tools for students, this text is a necessity for both undergraduate and graduate courses in criminology.
An Introduction to Criminology by
This book, first published in 1936, provides an introduction to the various branches of criminology, including criminal psychology and criminology as an applied science. This title also provides an overview of some of the different criminological schools and theories. This book will be of interest to students of criminology and sociology.
Key Ideas in Criminology and Criminal Justice by
Explores the key contributions to the fields of criminology and criminal justice from the late 18th century to today- and the conditions that led to their prominence The development of both criminology and criminal justice has been characterized by different theories and ideas that capture academic (and sometimes political) imaginations and send the discipline veering in entirely new directions. Why did these ideas catch on? What about them attracted and held scholars' attention and on occasion caused them to impact policy considerations? Why do they still have value today? These are the questions addressed in Key Ideas in Criminology and Criminal Justice.Key Ideas in Criminology and Criminal Justice is an innovative, fascinating treatment of some of the seminal theories in criminology and key policies in criminal justice, offering a detailed and nuanced picture of these core ideas. With a fluid, accessible, and lively writing style, this brief text is organized around major theories, ideas, and movements that mark a turning point in the field, and concludes with a discussion of the future of criminology and criminal justice. Readers will learn about the most salient criminological and criminal justice research and understand its influence on theory and policy. They will also understand the surrounding socio-political conditions from which the ideas sprang and the style and manner in which they were disseminated, both of which helped these scholarly contributions become cornerstones in the fields of criminology and criminal justice.
Of Crime and Criminality by
This collection of original essays is an innovative, effective way to teach crime theory to undergraduates. Each essay brings an important crime theory to life by applying that theory to a current crime event or topic of interest to students. An original introductory essay by Don Gibbons explains the origins of these different explanations for criminal behavior, and how they are similar to and different from one another.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by
The most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fifth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research. In addition to the history of the discipline and reviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights.The fifth edition has been substantially revised and updated so that it covers topics being taught at undergraduate level as well as encapsulating the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology. An impressive line-up of contributors, experts in their respective fields, means the Oxford Handbook of Criminology will continue to be an essential purchase for all students and teachers of criminology and an indispensable resource for professionals. Online Resource Centre* Selected chapters from previous editions* Details about the contributors * Guidance on answering essay questions* Essay questions* Selected further reading * Weblinks * Figures and tables from the text