NVC Research Guides: Harlan Dual Credit: Research

Keywords

Keywords are the main ideas of your paper. They represent the main concepts of your research topic and are the words used in everyday life to describe the topic. Keywords should contain words and phrases that suggest what the topic is about. Also include words and phrases that are closely related to your topic. For example, if the paper is about addiction, use words to help examine that concept. Try narrowing it down by person, place, thing, issues, setting, demographics.

Example:

Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi–disciplinary database that provides fulltext articles and abstracts in all subject areas.
Credo Reference Pro/Con Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides the pros and cons of controversial issues shaping our society. Entries are supported with background information that delves into the issue, with pro and con arguments, verified facts and additional reading.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Connects you to streaming video covering topics from the humanities, sciences, business, health, careers, and much more.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture using weekly updates from wire-service newsfeeds.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access to many scholarly journals in the arts, literature, botany, ecology and the social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of each journal title are NOT available here.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides current information on social issues. Great resource for argumentative papers and presentations.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Containing resources that present multiple sides of any topic or issue.

Harlan Dual Credit

What is a Scholarly Resource?

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus or on the WiFi you will be asked to sign-in when accessing online resources. Please see the image below for more information.

Keywords

Databases