Welcome!
The information on this page is meant to share helpful insights about bibliotherapy and is for general learning only. It isn’t professional advice or a replacement for guidance from a licensed therapist or healthcare provider. If you’re dealing with emotional or mental health concerns, it’s always best to reach out to a qualified professional for support.
For more information about support here at Northwest Vista College please visit the NVC Student Advocacy & Resource Center.
Research on Bibliotherapy
Below are a just a few examples of research articles discussing Bibliotherapy. To find more articles you can search the library databases available on the library homepage!
-
NVC Library HomepageLook for more articles using the One Search box or library databases! Suggested keywords include: Bibliotherapy, resilience, mindfulness, psychology and "psychology of reading."
What is Bibliotherapy?
"The use of reading materials for help in solving personal problems or for psychiatric therapy." - Merriam-Webster
"Bibliotherapy (also called book therapy, poetry therapy or therapeutic storytelling) refers to the practice of using books to help people solve issues they face at a particular time in their life. The books are to be selected based on what is relevant to that person’s specific situation." - USC Libraries, Self-Care Strategies and Resources: Bibliotherapy.
Suggested Library Databases
Databases are organized, searchable electronic collections of published information, such as articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as other resources like books, videos, and reference materials.
The One Search box allows you to search the library print collection and several of our online databases.
Suggested keywords include: Bibliotherapy, resilience, mindfulness, psychology and "psychology of reading."
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMulti–disciplinary database that provides fulltext articles and abstracts in all subject areas.
-
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative resources including academic journals, books, news, magazines that support research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
-
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.
One Search
Suggested eBooks
-
Bibliotherapy
by
With Bibliotherapy, you can use children's literature to improve cognitive, social, and emotional outcomes. This book shares 48 award-winning children's books across six areas of bibliotherapy and connects them with appropriate and powerful activities that increase listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills. The six bibliotherapy areas include: attachment and growth; creativity and critical thinking; bullying and building friendships; family matters (dynamics and change); poverty and social justice issues; and childhood challenges. -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015 -
Reading As a Philosophical Practice
by
Reading as a Philosophical Practice asks why reading--everyday reading for pleasure--matters so profoundly to so many people. Its answer is that reading is an implicitly philosophical activity. To passionate readers, it is a way of working through, and taking a stand on, certain fundamental questions about who and what we are, how we should live, and how we relate to other things. The book examines the lessons that the activity of reading seems to teach about selfhood, morality, and ontology, and it tries to clarify the sometimes paradoxical claims that serious readers have made about it. To do so, it proposes an original theoretical framework based on Virginia Woolf's notion of the common reader and Alasdair MacIntyre's conception of practice. It also asks whether reading can continue to play this role as paper is replaced by electronic screens. Despite the obvious overlap between the concerns of avid readers and the perennial questions of philosophy, most professional philosophers pay little attention to the kinds of reading that are most familiar to most people. They have had almost nothing to say about the activity of reading for pleasure, considered in itself and as such, or about the ways it matters to ordinary readers. For many serious readers, reading offers a way of working through philosophical matters--a way of posing, and sometimes taking a stand on, certain fundamental questions about what we are, how we should live, and how we relate to other things. This questioning is usually not as explicit or as self-aware as the debates that go on in philosophy journals and seminar rooms. But it has much the same goal and addresses many of the same concerns. Moreover, Reading as a Philosophical Practice argues that it is the "experience" of reading that performs these functions. Reading is not just philosophical on those occasions when we happen to read the works of philosophers or philosophically minded novelists. There is something philosophical about the activity of reading, in itself and as such, and about the experiences people have while engaged in it. The book's goal is to clarify what this is.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785276088Publication Date: 2020-12-29 -
Rethinking Therapeutic Reading
by
'Rethinking Therapeutic Reading' uses a combination of literary criticism and experimental psychology to examine the ways in which literature can create therapeutic spaces in which to do personal thinking. It reconsiders the role that serious literary reading might play in the real world, reclaiming literature as a vital tool for dealing with human troubles.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785273827Publication Date: 2020-06-23 -
Neurocomputational Poetics
by
This book introduces a new thrilling field: Neurocomputational Poetics, the scientific 'marriage' between cognitive poetics, data science and neuroscience. Its goal is to uncover the secrets of verbal art reception and to explain how readers come to understand and like literary texts. For centuries, verbal art reception has been considered too subjective for quantitative scientific studies and till date many scholars in the humanities and neurosciences alike view literary reading as too complex for accurate computational prediction of the neuronal, experiential and behavioural aspects of reader responses to texts. This book sets out to change this view.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781839987717Publication Date: 2023-11-28 -
Rethinking Therapeutic Reading
by
'Rethinking Therapeutic Reading' uses a combination of literary criticism and experimental psychology to examine the ways in which literature can create therapeutic spaces in which to do personal thinking. It reconsiders the role that serious literary reading might play in the real world, reclaiming literature as a vital tool for dealing with human troubles.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785273827Publication Date: 2020-06-23
-
Reading As Therapy
by
Why do Americans read contemporary fiction? This question seems simple, but is it? Do Americans read for the purpose of aesthetic appreciation? To satisfy their own insatiable intellectual curiosities? While other forms of media have come to monopolize consumers' leisure time, in the past two decades book clubs have proliferated, Amazon has sponsored thriving online discussions, Oprah Winfrey has inspired millions of viewers to read both contemporary works and classics, and novels have retained their devoted following within middlebrow communities. In Reading as Therapy, Timothy Aubry argues that contemporary fiction serves primarily as a therapeutic tool for lonely, dissatisfied middle-class American readers, one that validates their own private dysfunctions while supporting elusive communities of strangers unified by shared feelings. Aubry persuasively makes the case that contemporary literature's persistent appeal depends upon its capacity to perform a therapeutic function. Reading as Therapy traces the growth and proliferation of psychological concepts focused on the subjective interior within mainstream, middle-class society and the impact this has had on contemporary fiction. The prevailing tendency among academic critics has been to decry the personal emphasis of contemporary fiction as complicit with the rise of a narcissistic culture, the ascendency of liberal individualism, and the breakdown of public life. Reading as Therapy, by contrast, underscores the varied ideological effects that therapeutic culture can foster. To uncover the many unpredictable ways in which contemporary literature answers the psychological needs of its readers, Aubry considers several different venues of reader-response--including Oprah's Book Club and Amazon customer reviews--the promotional strategies of publishing houses, and a variety of contemporary texts, ranging from Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner to Anita Shreve's The Pilot's Wife to David Foster Wallace's Infinite Jest. He concludes that, in the face of an atomistic social landscape, contemporary fiction gives readers a therapeutic vocabulary that both reinforces the private sphere and creates surprising forms of sympathy and solidarity among strangers.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781587299568Publication Date: 2006-05-01 -
Transforming Tales
by
A very interesting and unusual book...The central theme of stories for change is challenging and exciting and it offers a good deal of wisdom about working with stories and insights into the stories themselves' - Mary Medlicott, storyteller, author of Shemi's Tall Tales and Cooking up a Story 'An illuminating account of the stories behind, within, above and below metaphors. The author's style is wonderfully engaging and flows beautifully from start to finish... This book will inspire anyone who works in therapeutic, creative, educational or business settings as well as being a joyful read to those who are fascinated by stories, fables and folklore. - Jaycee la Bouche, hypnotherapist, NLP confidence coach and children's relaxation teacher, Relax Kids ''This is a source of fabulous ideas and insights on the art of storytelling I will dip into again and again. Thought provoking explanations and rich examples are underpinned with biological information all of which flow easily from Rob's huge experience and skill as a storyteller. It seems as if stories really are wound into our DNA.' - Andy Vass, psychotherapist, coach and author of Teaching with Influence and Coaching and Mentoring for Leaders The power of story in our lives is far from adequately understood in contemporary culture. Equally the therapeutic power of storytelling, how it can quite literally entrance and even heal, has been ignored until recently. Transforming Tales reveals the true of impact of stories on our lives and how stories can create feelings of hope, take away psychological distress and even stimulate the immune system. Written by an experienced professional storyteller, this book contains over 90 short stories, from traditional fables to fascinating modern yarns, and allows readers to understand the hidden patterns storytellers use to captivate attention and learn how truths are often encapsulated in myths, jokes and fairy stories.The author focuses on the therapeutic value of stories and how they can instigate real change in people's lives. The book also reveals everything you need to know to create vibrant, memorable, original stories and short metaphors for yourself. This extraordinary journey into imagination and understanding will be an illuminating read for those professionally concerned with psychological and personal change and anyone who wants to learn more about the power and significance of stories.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781846429194Publication Date: 2009-02-15
