NVC Research Guides: HIST 1301/1302 Canestaro: Library Resources

Contact Us

Phone: 210-486-4513
Email: nvc-library@alamo.edu
Text: 210-390-1112
FAQ search box
Book-a-Librarian (30 min. w/ librarian)

Team #1

Team #2

Source #1
Source #2

Team #3

Source #1
Source #2

Team #4

Source #1
Source #2

Team #5

Souce #1
Source #2

One Search

EverythingBooksArticlesVideos
One Search
*Use Chrome or Firefox
Advanced Search

Off-Campus Access

From off-campus you will be prompted to login when accessing online databases.

User Name = ACES ID (Look-Up Your ACES ID)

Password = BANNER ID (Look-up Your Banner ID)

Problems? Contact the Reference Desk at 486-4513.

Suggested Databases

Click "Online Databases" on the Library Homepage.

Use the Alphabetical List to find a database you already know the name of.

Or go to the Subject List of Databases and select History.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Contains Primary Source Documents! Use the drop down menu by Publication Type and limit to Primary Source Document.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window Streaming video access to commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries for the study of American history.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window Biographies of people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window General reference source of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations and bilingual dictionaries. Its full-text content covers every major subject. Try the Concept Map option.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Provides details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful from their modern-day perspectives.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Connects you to streaming video covering topics from the humanities, sciences, business, health, careers, and much more.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window Access to health information including overviews of diseases and conditions, articles, pamphlets, remedies and much more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window (Gale) Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets for nursing and allied health students and consumer health researchers.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window Contains Primary Source Documents! Includes years 1851-2001 offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Contains Primary Source Documents!
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window Contains Primary Source Documents! Search: “Your Topic” and look under the heading Primary Sources.
World History in Context: Topic Page This link opens in a new window Integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of world history.
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History A chronology of world history through 2013
Women & Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Quick Search Tips

Not getting enough results? Try expanding your search to All Libraries. Request items located at other campus via Interlibrary Loan or pick up directly from that campus.

Want to try a fancier search? Try using the Advanced Keyword Search. You can select types of materials you'd like, use Boolean Operators, search by specific year, and/or read about other search tips.

Remember the 3 B's:

Brainstorm - think of as many different words or phrases that you can - sometimes the first word you think of may not be the best.

Boolean - add those words together with AND, OR, or NOT (Boolean operators)

Browse - find one good thing, and use that item to help you find more great items (use the subject terms or find more key words, etc)

Librarian

Amanda Gorrell

Email Me

Contact:
Redbud Learning Center
1st Floor

(210) 486-4508
Website

Social: Facebook Page Pinterest Page Twitter Page Instagram Page GoodReads Page

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Geography / World Cultures, Geology, Mathematics and Engineering, Psychology

Scholarly vs. Popular Publications

Differences Between Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines - See at a glance the differences in appearance, content, audience, purpose, etc., between scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Definition-Primary Source

Primary sources - records of events as they are first described, without any interpretation or commentary, including firsthand documents such as:

poems,
diaries,
court records,
interviews and
research results generated by experiments, surveys, ethnographies.

They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.

(Definitions from Bowling Green State University Library Instruction website)

Definition-Secondary Source

Secondary sources offer an analysis or a restatement of primary sources. They often attempt to describe or explain primary sources. They include:

dictionaries,
encyclopedias,
textbooks,
books and
articles that interpret or review research works.

(definitions from Bowling Green State University Library Instruction website)

Check Out Policies & Procedures

What do I need to check out library materials? A current student ID

Check Out periods for Students:

Books & CDs: 14 days

Videos & DVDs (Limit 3): 7 days

Reference Books: Must be used in the Library. Photocopiers available, 10 cents/page.

For more information, see Library Policies.