NVC Research Guides: EDUC 1300 / SDEV 0370: Finding Information in the Library

Off-Campus Access

Sign-in with your ACES USERNAME & PASSWORD
Problems? Call (210) 486-4777

Where to Find Library Materials

Classification Scheme: The NVC library uses the Library of Congress classification system for our books and videos.

Reference (Library Use Only): the low shelves along the wall by the Reference Desk.

Books for Check-Out/ "the Stacks": the tall shelving in the middle of the Library

Videos (DVD & VHS): the shelves next to the group study rooms.

NVC Audio (CDs): the wooden bins just past the Reference area.

One Search

Databases

What is a Database?

Think of a database as an individual online collection of resources that you can search through. These collections can contain academic journal articles, newspapers, magazines, images, streaming video, music and much more. Some databases are discipline specific while others cover many disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi–disciplinary database that provides fulltext articles and abstracts in all subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides current information on social issues. Great resource for argumentative papers and presentations.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General reference source of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations and bilingual dictionaries. Its full-text content covers every major subject. Try the Concept Map option.

Librarian

Amanda Gorrell

Email Me

Contact:

Redbud Learning Center
1st Floor

(210) 486-4508

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Geography / World Cultures, Geology, Mathematics and Engineering, Psychology

Topic Generators

Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
To visualize connections between search terms and topics and view relevant articles for those topics, click Go to Topic Finder
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
To view the Mind Map feature: first search your topic and then you will see the Mind Map on the right side of your results page.

Examples: Concept Maps
Creating a concept map can help you develop keywords for a database search strategy.

EDUC 1300 / SDEV 0370