NVC Research Guides: Field Archaeology: Welcome

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus or on the WiFi you will be asked to sign-in when accessing online resources. Please see the image below for more information.

Use your:

ACES USERNAME & BANNER ID

Problems? Call (210) 486-4513

Contact Us

Phone: 210-486-4513
Email: nvc-library@alamo.edu
Text: 210-390-1112
FAQ search box
Book-a-Librarian (30 min. w/ librarian)

One Search

Suggested Databases

What is a database?

Think of databases as online collections of resources (eBooks, academic articles, streaming video, etc). The databases listed below are some of the best for researching topics related to archaeology.

What is the difference between One Search and a database?

One Search is not a database but a search box. While you can search multiple database at once using One Search you will search the database collections listed below separately. The search strategies will be the same.

Asian Film Online: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 1,000 narrative feature films and documentaries on themes relevant to Asian Culture.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General reference source of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations and bilingual dictionaries. Its full-text content covers every major subject. Try the Concept Map option.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Provides details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful from their modern-day perspectives.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Collection of videos focusing on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world.
Handbook of Texas This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content that includes interactive elements in articles such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 660,000 large–scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities from 1867–1970.

Librarian

Amanda Gorrell

Email Me

Contact:

Redbud Learning Center
1st Floor

(210) 486-4508

Subjects: Anthropology, Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Geography / World Cultures, Geology, Mathematics and Engineering, Psychology

Suggested Online Journals

Journal of Anthropological Archaeology An innovative, international publication, the Journal of Anthropological Archaeology is devoted to the development of theory and, in a broad sense, methodology for the systematic and rigorous understanding of the organization, operation, and evolution of human societies
Journal of Archaeological Science Journal of Archaeological Science: Reports is aimed at archaeologists and scientists engaged with the application of scientific techniques and methodologies to all areas of archaeology

Next: Websites >>