Library Resource Access
Sign-in with your ACES USERNAME & PASSWORD
Problems? Call (210) 486-4777
NVC Databases
-
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowRequires setup of a personal account. Provides a wide range of online tests, skill-building courses, and e-books for all ages. Does NOT include CLEP tests.
-
Vocations and Careers Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGeneral reference source of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations and bilingual dictionaries. Its full-text content covers every major subject. Try the Concept Map option.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEbook encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
-
Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new windowCreate an account.
Review for and take online practice tests for standardized exams: CLEP, ASVAB, GED, GRE, GMAT, SAT, ACT, and TOEFL, etc. Information about universities, career schools, test preparation, and career exploration. Access to resume and cover letter building tools, and much more.
Helpful Websites
-
Occupational Outlook HandbookProvides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; information on state and area data; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 329 occupational profiles covering about 83 percent of the jobs in the economy.
-
O*NET Online (U.S. Dept. of Labor)Provides an occupation search, skills search and a tools and technology search.
-
Career One Stop (U.S. Dept. of Labor)Find information about jobs, information on resumes and job searching, educational opportunities, worker and employer legal rights and regulations, links to many other related web sites. Funded by the U.S. government.
-
Texas Reality CheckInteractive website to see how much money you will need in the future. Occupation assessment included.
-
Texas Internship ChallengeThe Texas Internship Challenge is a joint partnership among the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, TWC and TEA, to encourage business and industry partners across the state to offer paid internships.
NVC resources
Search Strategies
Keyword Search Techniques:
Combine search terms to focus a topic by using and, or, not.
Example: medicine and careers
RN or "registered nurse"
Phrase Search: Place quotation marks around phrases so all the words are searched together, rather than independently.
Example: “vocational guidance"
Truncation: Use an asterisk * to take the place of letters in a word so that other forms can be searched at the same time.
Example: teach*, career*
Title Search: Search the catalog by typing in the title of the book series (listed below), then the name of your career
Example: Top careers in two years advertising.
Book Series Titles:
- Careers in focus
- Top careers in two years
- Opportunities in...
- Career opportunities in....
- Careers in...