NVC Research Guides: PSYC 2301 Jacox: Welcome

Contact Us

Phone: 210-486-4513
Email: nvc-library@alamo.edu
Text: 210-390-1112
FAQ search box
Book-a-Librarian (30 min. w/ librarian)

Scholarly vs. Popular Publications

Identifying Research Articles

Research Reports & Other Journal Content
This information helps you easily distinguish research articles from other materials in a scholarly journal, such as book reviews and literature reviews.

One Search

EverythingBooksArticlesVideos
One Search
*Use Chrome or Firefox
Advanced Search

Databases

Criminal Justice Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Health & Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access to health information including overviews of diseases and conditions, articles, pamphlets, remedies and much more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets for nursing and allied health students and consumer health researchers.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides current information on social issues. Great resource for argumentative papers and presentations.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content that includes interactive elements in articles such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images
Subject List of Databases

Off-Campus Access

If you are off campus or on the WiFi you will be asked to sign-in when accessing online resources. Please see the image below for more information.

Use your:

ACES USERNAME & BANNER ID

Problems? Call (210) 486-4513

Librarian

Linda Reeves

Email Me

Contact:
Redbud Learning Center

Subjects: Biography

Identifying Research Articles

Not everything in a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal is a research article. The information below may help you distinguish research articles from other kinds of content.

Literature Reviews: summarize many studies. Literature reviews are secondary sources, and do not report new or original experimental work. Click here for an example.

Commentary: informed thoughts or observations about a topic or clinical practice. Click here for an example.

Book Reviews: highlight new books relevant to the field. Click here for an example.

Research Study Reports/articles: are written by the researchers who conducted the study, cover why and how the study was done, include data, a discussion of possible implications of the findings, and end with a list of references. See the box to the right for specific details. Click here to seen an example of a research study.

Next: Search Strategies >>