NVC Research Guides: Sculpture: Online Databases

ARTstor Help

Here are some great resources to help you understand how to use ARTstor with all its many possibilities!

ARTstor Tutorials on YouTube

Find Images

The BEST resources for art images are the online art databases available through the NVC Library. These databases are where you should always look FIRST for images that you may want to use in powerpoint presentations or in your papers.

The images that you find in the online databases listed below are of the highest possible quality. Also, when you are using the databases you know your images are from credible sources.

ArtStor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor gives you access to over 1 million images from museums and private collections from around the world. The images are of the highest quality. You can limit your search to sculpture.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of 34 volume set, covers all forms of the visual arts including painting, sculpture,architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the 1990s.

Find articles and artist information

The online databases give you access to thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and materials from books. The databases are available 24 hours a day and are constantly being updated and added to. Use your original PALS username and password to log in to the databases from off campus.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Covers all forms of the visual arts including painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to today.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Great place to find artist biographies.Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.