NVC Research Guides: Govt. 2305/2306: Home

Contact Us

Phone: 210-486-4513
Email: nvc-library@alamo.edu
Text: 210-390-1112
FAQ search box
Book-a-Librarian (30 min. w/ librarian)

One Search

Assignment Govt. 2305

Q. Research the current laws on military style assault weapons and Federal and State (Texas) laws regarding “assault weapons” and semi-automatic guns.

Helpful Resources:

Assignment Govt. 2306

Q. Research Texas Medicaid program and the impact of the hypothetical Texas state law, in which Texas expands Medicaid coverage to low-income, undocumented adults ages 25 and younger.

Medicaid history
Medicaid: Title XIX
Kaiser Family Foundation : The Kaiser Family Foundation is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
Health Affairs Medicaid Topic Collections :Health Affairs is generally regarded as the leading health services journal. Most articles require UCLA subscription to access. NOTE: Not all articles are open access. Copy and Paste the title of the article into OneSearch to see if we have access or ask a Librarian for assistance.
National Health Law Program (NHeLP)
This organization advocates for a health care “safety net” for the poor, minorities, the elderly, and persons with disabilities.
Portal to Texas History: Primary sources on Medicaid and Texas Medicaid

Online Databases

The following databases are useful for controversial issues and current social issues. If you don't find information on your topic, go to Databases by Subject and select the most appropriate subject area. Contact a librarian for help selecting a relevant database for your topic.

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides current information on social issues. Great resource for argumentative papers and presentations.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture using weekly updates from wire-service newsfeeds.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi–disciplinary database that provides fulltext articles and abstracts in all subject areas.
News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. (Gale)
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets for nursing and allied health students and consumer health researchers.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Includes primary sources.

Credo Pro/Con
Provides the pros and cons of controversial issues shaping our society. Entries are supported with background information that delves into the issue, with pro and con arguments, verified facts and additional reading.

Subject Guide

Rose Rodriguez

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Redbud Learning Center
107G

210-486-4507

Subjects: Mexican American Studies, Women's, Gender & Sexuality, Zines

Govt. 2305/2306