Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zines at NVC: How to Donate Zines

The Northwest Vista Library has a zine collection that is in progress!  See the Zine Donation FAQs below for more information or contact Rose Rodriguez for further information.

 

Donate your zines!

We encourage everyone - especially members of the San Antonio community - to consider donating their zines to the NVC Zine Library collection. This includes zines that you have created, as well as zines created by others from your own collection.

Statement of Consent

Before submitting any zines, please consider the following information:

Anyone inside the library can browse and read the zines in our collection. The zines can be checked out to anyone with borrowing privileges. We may also photograph the cover material for browsing aids and promotion. The NVC Zine Library recognizes the sometimes personal nature of zine creation and distribution. We respect the creator/publisher's potential concerns about access to their work. Therefore, we ask you to consider who we are, how we share information about our zines, and how we provide access to our zines. We ask that you acknowledge your consent when submitting your work to the NVC Zine Library.

NVC Zine Library FAQs

What kinds of zines can I donate to the NVC Zine Collection?

Zines should be predominately hand-crafted and geared toward adults, though they may additionally be of interest to teens. We do not collect zines for children. Our collection is mostly in English, but we’re open to other languages, especially Spanish. They can be zines that you personally created or zines made by other people.

Content of the collection includes, but is not limited to, these topics and themes:

Activism

Arts

Careers

Community

Comics

Disabilities

DIY/How to

Feminism

Film

Food/Cooking

Gender

Health

History

Hobbies

Homelessness

Humor

LGBTQIA+

Literature/ Poetry

Mental Health

Movements

Music

Parenting

Perzines

Policitics

 

San Antonio

Self Defense

Society

 

Sustainability

Texas

Travel

Veterans

Zines

 

If you are unsure whether your zine would be a good fit for our collection, please contact us with details before donating.