Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Policies

Collection Development Policy


Northwest Vista College Library

Collection Development Policy

 

 

The Northwest Vista College Library collection development policy is a guideline for the selection and de-selection of library materials in all formats.  In order to select suitable materials, curricular changes and course additions will be reviewed as well as standard publications such as Library Journal, Choice, New York Times Book Review, and Booklist. Suggestions will be taken from students, faculty, staff and administration. 

 

All purchase requests will be reviewed by NVC Library staff who will notify the requester of their decision.   Although the NVC library will try and honor requests for popular titles, priority will be given to materials that support the curriculum.

 

ONLINE COLLECTION

Databases

Online databases that include materials such as, journals, newspapers, electronic books, streaming videos and streaming music will be purchased for access both on- and off-campus. Preference is given to those services deemed to be offering core materials for each subject. The reliability of the database provider is also important to assure that archived material will continue to be available.

 

eBooks

eBooks purchases are based on licensing restrictions. 

 

PHYSICAL COLLECTION

Books
Hardbound books are preferable, but paperbound books will be purchased when availability and costs are an issue. Because of budget limitations, we will not purchase multiple copies of books.

  

Textbooks

The library does not purchase course required textbooks as part of its collection. However, some textbooks are put on reserve for student checkout.

 

Periodicals
The collection of print periodicals will reflect titles that are browsable. The number of print subscriptions will be limited. Back issues of print titles will be retained for a period of time to be determined by library staff.

 

Newspapers
The Library subscribes to local newspapers, national newspapers, and special interest papers. A limited number of newspapers are kept for one year. Back-files will be maintained, when possible, for selected titles.

 

Videorecordings
The library will buy DVDs that support classroom instruction first, followed by titles that will be useful in extracurricular programs or are of recreational interest. Faculty requests will be honored whenever possible. DVDs purchased by the library will be housed in the library. Whenever possible, public performance rights will be purchased. DVDs that cost over $100.00 will be automatically placed in the permanent reserve collection.  

 

Due to storage and licensing, the library does not purchase streaming videos outside of what is available in our Streaming Video databases.  

 

Atlases, Maps and Globes
Atlases and maps will be collected selectively to support general reference and research needs. The Library purchases individual maps, map sets and atlases in both print and online formats in accordance with general selection criteria. Outdated maps will be retained only if they are of political or historic use.

 

Gifts
Gifts will be added to the collection only after they have been evaluated by NVC Library staff to determine if they meet collection development requirements. Donors should contact the library director if they have material they wish to donate or if they have questions about the donation process. The library will acknowledge the number of items donated, but cannot legally provide an appraisal or estimate of value of donated material.

 

Donated items that are not added to the library’s collection will be discarded unless arraignments have been made with the donor.  

 

De-selection
The NVC Library uses the following criteria to de-select items:


Publication Date: Is the item still relevant to the collection or are there more recently published items available on the same topic?


Frequency of Use: Circulation and other statistics may be examined to determine if an item is in high demand. Items that are not in demand will be eligible for de-selection.

 

Currency/Accuracy of Information: Is the information in the item out of date or unreliable? A good example would be items that still list Pluto as a planet or books about Microsoft Office ’98.

 

Physical Condition: Is the item damaged beyond a reasonable cost of replacement?


Additional Copies: Does the library have unnecessary duplicates of the same item?


Outdated Formats: Does the format allow for library users and staff to access the information contained within effectively? A good example would be VHS tapes and/or cassette tapes.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Judy McMillan
Contact:
Redbud Learning Center
210-486-4513